Nominations for the 2015 Sasakawa Award…

Nominations for the 2015 Sasakawa Award for Disaster Risk Reduction are now open!

Deadline: 31 October 2014.

You may nominate individuals, community groups, civil society organizations, government agencies at local or national level or private sector entities for this award. The 2015 Sasakawa Award will have the theme “Shaping the Future.” The jury will be looking for distinguishing characteristics that include:

Being agents of change
Often acts ahead
Shows willingness to tackle uncertainty
Is skillful at managing resources
Practices inclusiveness
Listens to new voices

The winner will be announced on 17 March 2015 at the Third UN World Conference on Disaster Risk Reduction in Sendai, Japan.

Visit to read more about the award and get tips on how to submit a nomination.

More on WCDRR: